On the top shoulder of South America rests the three countries of the Guiana Shield: Suriname, Guyana, and French Guiana. All three countries are located along the Caribbean coast and all are part of the Guiana Shield, a 1.7 billion-year-old Precambrian geological formation and one of the highest biodiverse regions in the world. Indeed, the shield boasts 1,400 vertebrate species and 1,680 bird species and is overlain by the largest expanse of undisturbed tropical rain forest in the world.

Despite this shared commonality, each country in the Guianas has its own distinct cultural heritage. This is because each has been colonized by a different European nation.

Suriname, like its sisters, also features vast swaths of tropical rainforests where locals such as the Maroon people reside. In the cities, marvel at the Dutch colonial architecture. The capital city of Paramaribo, for example, boasts UNESCO World Heritage status. Highlights include the former Fort Zeelandia, the 17th century trading post, as well as Saint Peter and Paul Basilica and the Presidential Palace. Nearby in the Commewijne district, former colonial plantations turned living jungles offer a glimpse into the past and a chance for more wildlife and cultural encounters.

Join Ker & Downey as we travel the Guianas: Guyana, Suriname, and French Guiana. Contact a Ker & Downey expert to customize your next adventure in this untouched and unique part of the South America.

Sample Itineraries

Three Guianas Tour HERO

Plan Your Own Journey

Get Planning >
Three Guianas Tour FEATURE Rewa Ecolodge

Three Guianas Tour

15 days
14 nights
Details >